Attention: You are using an outdated browser, device or you do not have the latest version of JavaScript downloaded and so this website may not work as expected. Please download the latest software or switch device to avoid further issues.

News > College Life > St. John's College Welcomes a New Council

St. John's College Welcomes a New Council

St John's Council is well-balanced and stronger than ever, benefitting St John's College and our students now and into the future.
20 Dec 2019
College Life

On 14 March 2019 the St John’s Council appointed the following four members of Council:

Mr Matthew Gordon
Mrs Christine Liddy AO
Dr Sandra Lynch
Mr David Pacey

This completes the process of constituting the Council following the passage of the Saint John’s College Act 2018.  The members of Council are now:

Dr Bernadette Tobin AO GCSG, Chair
Mr Adrian Diethelm, Rector
Mr John Coorey, Deputy Chair
Very Rev Dr Gerald Gleeson VG
Mr Matthew Gordon
Sr Mary Helen Hill OP
Mr Khan Horne
Mrs Christine Liddy AO
Dr Sandra Lynch
Mr David Pacey
Judge Gerard Phillips
Ms Alexandra Ryan
Most Rev Dr Richard Umbers DD VG

Also on 14 March Council elected Dr Bernadette Tobin AO GCSG as Chair of Council and Mr John Coorey as Deputy Chair, positions they will hold until the first Council meeting in 2020. Dr Tobin, Chair since December 2013, has agreed to serve for another year in order to ensure a smooth transition from the previous Council to the new Council constituted under the 2018 Act. This transition will allow the next Council leadership to be fully informed on the many workings of a busy College schedule.

“I look forward to working with John Coorey and the College Rector, Adrian Diethelm, to further strengthen the College’s governance processes and community engagement.”  Dr Tobin said.  “The new Council is well balanced, with 8 members who have already served on Council and 5 new members. John and the other new members of Council bring a breadth of experience and commitment which will benefit St John’s and our students both now and into the future. I am pleased to be able to assist in the transition to a new generation of leadership in the College Council which John and other members of the new Council will provide.”

Mr Coorey, who was also elected as Chair of the College’s Advancement Committee, said that the Council constituted under the new Act provides an opportunity for St John’s College to advance its mission, including strengthened engagement with alumni. “St John’s is a wonderful community and its future lies with current students and past graduates. The College is in a good situation today and together with the whole Council, I am committed to making St John’s a place where our students can flourish.  Our alumni have an important role to play in this.  As Chair of the Advancement Committee, I will propose that a first priority should be to renew our structures of engagement with alumni.”

Council elected the following Committee chairs for 2019:

Advancement Committee – Mr John Coorey
Finance & Risk Committee – Mr Khan Horne
Student Relations Committee – Dr Sandra Lynch
Nominations & Remuneration Committee – Dr Bernadette Tobin

The Chair of Council, Deputy Chair of Council and Rector are ex officio members of all Council committees.

Mr Matthew Gordon continues as chair of the Rector’s Building & Works Group.

Authorised by A Diethelm, Rector, 15 March 2019

Similar Stories

St John's students enjoyed a socially distanced Formal Dinner in the main Quadrangle.

St John's is responding to the COVID-19 pandemic by transitioning to a socially distant al fresco Formal Dinner. More...

Students enjoy a day out at the Royal Easter Show More...

The College farewells one of its former Rectors. More...

Have your say!



10 Missenden Rd, Camperdown 
NSW 2006, Australia

Follow us on Social

This website is powered by